Side header image

The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors has 28 members, including

  • the rector, the chair of the Research Board, the chair of the Education Board, the chair of the Board of Services to the University and the Community
  • six elected members of the Tenured Academic Personnel, three members of the Assistant and Non-Statutory Academic Personnel, three members of Administrative and Technical Personnel, and three students
  • three members appointed by the Minister for Education, the Governor of the Province of Antwerp and the Provincial Superior of the Society of Jesus
  • six members selected by the Board of Governors from the various political, socioeconomic and cultural layers of society and UAntwerp graduates. 

The competences of the Board of Governors include

  • setting guidelines for the orientation, organisation, coordination and quality management of academic education, scientific research and scientific services,
  • determining and approving the budget and staffing plan
  • appointing members of the Tenured Academic Personnel and level A administrative personnel.


Secretariat tothe Board of Governors Campus Middelheim, building A
Middelheimlaan 1
2020 Antwerpen
Tel. +32 3 265 30 01