Research partners

The IMDO Research Teams

Ecosystem Management Research Group
 
Research Group of Plant & Vegetation Ecology
 
Evolutionary Ecology Research Group
 
Systemic Physiological & Eco-toxicological Research Group
 
Biomedical Sciences
 
Environment & Sociology 
 
Epidemiology & Social Medicine
 
Pneumology
 
Institute of Development Policy
 
Department of Economics
 
Engineering Management
 
EduBron Research Group
http://www.edubron.be/
 
Research Group on Sustainable Energy & Air Purification
 
Organic Synthesis Department & ORGANICA
 
Institutions and Multi-Level Politics
 
Corporate Responsibility Competence Centre, Antwerp Management School
http://www.antwerpmanagementschool.be/en/faculty-research/competence-centers/corporate-responsibility.aspx
 

The IMDO network members & partners

(official Board members are indicated with *)
 
 

Name
 
Team & contact Key research topics
Prof. Lieven Bervoets Lieven.Bervoets@uantwerp.be
 
Systemic Physiological and Ecotoxicological Research
 
Environmental
Biomarkers
Bio-accumulation
Biomonitoring
Aquatic ecology
Bio-availability
 
Prof. Johan Bastiaensen*
 
 
Johan.Bastiaensen@uantwerp.be
 
Institute of Development Policy and Management
 
Local institutions & environment in the global South
Payments for ecosystem services
Complexity in human-environment relationships
Adaptive governance
Development cooperation
Conditional aid
 
Prof. Ronny Blust* Ronny.Blust@uantwerp.be
 
Systemic Physiological and Ecotoxicological Research
 
Ecophysiology
Ecotoxicology
Exposure scenarios at cell, organismal & population level
Ecosystem Impact Assessment
Mode of Action
Risk Assessment
 
Prof. Peter Bursens*
 
 
Peter.Bursens@uantwerp.be
 
Institutions and Multi-Level Policies
 
European environmental policy
Multi-actor processes
Policy evaluation
Multi-level policies
 
Prof. Reinhart Ceulemans* Reinhart.Ceulemans@uantwerpen.be
 
Plant & Vegetation Ecology
Impacts of global change
Biogeochemical cycle research
Greenhouse gas balance
Life cycle analysis
Biomass production
Bio-Energy
Risk analysis
 
Prof. Pegie Cool Pegie.Cool@uantwerp.be
 
Adsorption & Catalysis
 
Bio-electrochemistry
Sustainable chemistry
Photocatalysis
Prof. Wilfried De Backer
 
Wilfried.Debacker@uantwerp.be
 
Pneumology
 
Environmental health
Respiratory illnesses and environment
Prof. Ludo Diels
 
 
 
Ludo.Diels@uantwerp.be
 
Sustainable Energy & Air Purification
 
Sustainable Chemistry
Green technology
Prof. Guido Erreygers* Guido.Erreygers@uantwerp.be
 
Department of Economics
 
 
Economics of natural resources
Intergenerational equity
History of economics
Sustainable development
 
Prof. Ivan Janssens Ivan.Janssens@uantwerp.be
 
Plant & Vegetation Ecology
Global change & ecosystem functioning
Forest ecosystem productivity
Greenhouse gas balance of ecosystems and continents
Carbon cycling (multi-level)
 
Prof. Sylvia Lenaerts
 
 
Sylvia.Lenaerts@uantwerp.be
 
Sustainable Energy & Air Purification
 
Gas detection technology
Photocatalysis
Sustainable air purification
Sustainable chemistry
Prof. Ilse Loots*
 
Ilse.Loots@uantwerp.be
 
Sociology
 
Health & environment
Risk perception & Risk governance
Social construction of environmental risk
Social impact assessment
Participatory processes 
Role of experts in decision-making
 
 
Prof. Erik Matthijsen* Erik.Matthijssen@uantwerp.be
 
Evolutionary Ecology
Population ecology
Biodiversity
Conservation
Connectivity
Invasive species
 
Prof. Patrick Meire*
 
 
Patrick.Meire@uantwerp.be
 
Ecosystem Management Research Group
 
Aquatic ecology
Estuarine ecology
Ecosystem services
Wetlands
Integrated water resources management
 
Prof. Ivan Nijs Ivan.Nijs@uantwerp.be
 
Plant & Vegetation Ecology
Invasive species
Climate Change
Simulation of extreme climate events
 
 
Prof. Greet Schoeters*
 
Greet.Schoeters@uantwerp.be
 
Biomedical Sciences
 
Ecotoxicology
Environment & Health
Population studies
Biomonitoring
 
Prof. Luc Van Liedekerke
 
 
Luc.Vanliedekerke@uantwerp.be
 
Antwerp Management School
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
Business ethics
Environmental management systems
 
Prof. Marc Van Sprundel*
 
 
Marc.Vansprundel@uantwerp.be
 
Epidemiology & Social Medicine
 
Environmental health
Environmental epidemiology
International health
Occupational Health
 
Prof. Peter Van Petegem
 
Peter.Vanpetegem@uantwerp.be
 
EduBron
 
Environmental education
Environmental values
Environmental management systems
 
Prof. Aviel Verbruggen* Aviel.Verbruggen@uantwerp.be
 
Engineering Management
 
Climate Change economics & policy
Technology Assessment
Energy systems modelling
Technology management
Systemic change
Transitions