BPS General Scientific Meeting 2018

Registration is now open

Scope of the conference

Welcome to the website of the General Scientific Meeting 2018 of the Belgian Physical Society, hosted by Antwerpen University on April 11th at the Campus Drie Eiken. This one-day conference aims at bringing together physicists of different sectors and different scientific subdisciplines. A diverse program is offered including plenary talks, a young scientist oral presentation competition, and a best poster competition. Parallel sessions and poster sessions will be organized on:

  • Astrophysics, Geophysics & Plasma Physics
  • Quantum physics, including atomic physics and quantum optics
  • Biophysics and Medical physics
  • Condensed Matter & Nanophysics
  • Fundamental Interactions, Particle & Nuclear Physics
  • Physics and Education



March 11th: deadline for young speakers contest registration, and for early-bird registration

March 24th: deadline for abstract submission

April 4th: deadline for on-line registration

Wednesday April 11th: day of the conference


Organising Committee / Scientific Committee

Prof.dr. Jacques Tempere (Universiteit Antwerpen)

Prof.dr. Michiel Wouters (Universiteit Antwerpen)

Prof.dr. Jef Ongena (Royal Military Academy)

along with the chairpersons of the various sessions:

Prof.dr. Anitha Ethirajan (UHasselt): Biophysics and Medical Physics

Prof.dr. Francois Peeters (UAntwerpen): Condensed Matter and Nanophysics

Dr. Stefan Tinck (UAntwerpen): Astrophysics, Geophysics & Plasma Physics

Prof.dr. Pierre Van Mechelen (UAntwerpen): Particle & Nuclear Physics

Dr. Hilde Verheyen (Xaverius College): Physics and Education

Prof.dr. Michiel Wouters (UAntwerpen): Quantum Physics










Plenary Lecture 1: FAIR - The universe in the laboratory
Plenary Lecture 2: A Spins-inside Quantum Processor
Parallel session invited speakers
Physics and Education session


Belgian Physical Society 2018
Conference Secretariat
CDE, building N
Universiteitsplein 1
2610 Antwerpen
Tel. 032652441
Fax 032652245