About the European Conference on X-ray Spectrometry

The conference

The European Conference on X-Ray Spectrometry (EXRS) is a biennial conference series that started in 1984 in Gothenburg, Sweden. This conference has become a traditional meeting for scientists from around the world working in x-ray spectrometry or using one of its several techniques: X-ray fluorescence (conventional, micro-fluorescence, synchrotron-based and total-reflection), electron microprobe, PIXE, XRD, etc. It represents an exciting discussion forum for basic research and applications of x-ray spectrometry in a rich variety of fields like materials science, chemistry (analysis of materials, quantification), radiation physics, medicine (medical physics, medical imaging), biology, environment, cultural heritage, technology and industry. EXRS is an opportunity to learn more about the latest in theoretical, experimental and applied XRS, to discuss with people from all over the world, to share your own work and to learn from others.

The scientific program consists of invited lectures from distinguished scientists, oral presentations and poster contributions given by the participants and an industrial exhibition, including technical presentations given by the sponsors.

The last three conferences were held in Ljubljana, Slovenia 2018Gothenburg, Sweden 2016 and Bologna, Italy 2014.


  • Interactions of X-rays with matter and fundamental parameters
  • Quantification, simulation and modelling
  • XRS  Instrumentation (sources, optics and ED/WD detectors, including mobile devices)
  • TXRF and related techniques
  • PIXE and electron induced XRS                        
  • Synchrotron radiation
  • Microbeams and scanning imaging techniques
  • Full field X-ray imaging and tomography          
  • X-ray absorption and emission spectroscopy; X-ray diffraction
  • XRS Applications in biology/health, environment, industrial production, cultural heritage, nano technology, energy, ...

Conference Secretariat

Mr. Luc Van't dack Campus Drie Eiken (CDE)
Room D.B.211
Universiteitsplein 1
2610 Antwerp
Tel. 0032 3 265 2343

Local Organizing Committee

  • Koen Janssens (chair, University of Antwerp)
  • Geert Van der Snickt (University of Antwerp)
  • Luc Van't dack (secretary, University of Antwerp)
  • Laszlo Vincze (Ghent University)
  • David Strivay (Liège University)

International Advisory Committee

  • Burkhard Beckhoff, PTB, Germany
  • Johan Boman, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Maria Luisa Carvalho, New University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Roberto Cesareo, University of Sassari, Italy
  • Stjepko Fazinić, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia
  • Jorge E. Fernandez, Alma Mater Studiorum University of Bologna, Italy
  • René Van Grieken, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Yohichi Gohshi, Japan
  • Andreas Karydas, Institute of Nuclear and Particle Physics, NCSR “Demokritos”, Greece
  • Matjaz Kavcic, Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
  • Marie-Christine Lepy, Laboratoire National Henri Becquerel, Saclay, France
  • Jorge Sanchez, University of Cordoba, Argentina
  • Szabina Török, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
  • Peter Wobrauschek, Vienna University of Technology, Austria