Theme of the meeting

Be prepared for an exciting program on “All Things Sulphur” including sessions on new metabolisms and organisms, biogeochemistry and stable isotopes, genetics and biochemistry, evolution and ecology, deep time earth system functioning, and biotechnology. This broad range of topics will be covered by a vibrant mixture of keynote lectures, invited and contributed talks, and posters from young scientists as well as leading experts in the field.  

The meeting takes place in the historic part of Antwerp, which is not only renowned for diamonds and hipster boutiques, but also features many art galleries and museums. The old city centre is steeped in history, with ancient building-fronts on narrow streets, the house of famous painter Rubens, the imposing Grand-Place and the majestic Central railway station. In the shadow of the Cathedral, the city teems with life in intimate pubs and restaurants, serving a wide variety of the famous Belgian beers. A stroll along the banks of the Scheldt river provides a breath of fresh air.

On behalf of the Scientific Committee and the organizing teams at the University of Antwerp, the MPI Bremen and VUB, we look forward to seeing you in Antwerp!

Former editions of the conference

  • 2006 Münster – Germany
  • 2009 Tomar – Portugal
  • 2012 Noordwijkerhout – The Netherlands
  • 2015 Helsingør – Danmark
  • 2018 Vienna - Austria

Organizing committee

Scientific committee  

  • Filip Meysman (University of Antwerp, Belgium)
  • Jana Milucka (Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, Germany)
  • Tim Ferdelman (Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, Germany)
  • Jeanine Geelhoed (University of Antwerp, Belgium) 
  • Dirk De Beer (Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, Germany)
  • Judith Klatt (Microcosm Earth Center, Marburg, Germany)
  • Martine Leermakers (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)​​

Local organisation  

  • University of Antwerp (Filip Meysman, Jeanine Geelhoed, Ines Cottignie)
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Martine Leermakers)