Side header image

Research centers

The Faculty of Applied Economics (FAE) stimulates research in different ways, provides staff and budgets, and indicates priorities via the ‘research model’ (see hereafter), but research operationalisation and innovation is the responsibility of the research departments/groups. The translation of FAE’s mission in specific research activities and niches is done by the research departments/groups. Research activities and topics of FAE are based on the subsidiarity principle: research departments/groups are defining their own research niches and innovation strategy. This is based on the available expertise in the research departments/groups and on the development of new, innovative research topics. Research departments/groups’ strategies must of course align with the frameworks and research policy imposed by FAE and the UAntwerp research policy.

The departments or research groups are decentralised administrative units for well-defined disciplines which are providing scientific research, education and academic services, along with the academic personnel who make up their staff, and for the tasks allocated to them by the faculty. FAE currently has seven research departments/groups. Most of these research groups are the same as in other faculties of applied economics or business economics. Two of the seven research groups, i.e. ‘Management’ and ‘Engineering Management’ have established research subgroups that focus on more specific research topics.

List of research groups

Research news
  • 1
    Essays on Cross-border Venture Capital and Venture Internationalization
    On February 22nd Katja Bringmann defended her PhD Essays.
  • 25
    BNP Paribas Fort Port Co.Innovation Café
    On June 20, 2017, the third BNP Paribas Fortis Port Co.Innovation Café took place. 56 stakeholders from the maritime and air cargo sector shared experiences on pricing, innovation, data and community during the interactive carousel.
  • 3
    TPR Doctor Jack Doomernik
    On 3 July 2017, Jack Doomernik succesfully defended his PhD thesis on 'Strategies for International High-Speed Rail operators in the European passenger transport market
  • 28
    AOM Annual Meeting Best Paper Notification
    Efficient Redundancy? How socio-cognitive structures impact innovation under complex conditions. By Juan Antonio Candiani (ACED-University of Antwerp ), Arjan Marcus (Tilburg University) & Victor Gilsing (ACED-University of Antwerp).
  • 13
    TPR Doctor Ties Vanthillo
    On 8 March 2017, Ties Vanthillo succesfully defend his PhD thesis on 'The role of strategies in shaping conditions for localised renewal of industries and regional development'.

1         More news