The IMPALA project is composed of 9 full partners: 5 European higher education organisations (University of Antwerp, University of Bologna, University of Graz, Utrecht Network, Academic Cooperation Association – ACA) and 4 South African universities (Cape Peninsula University of Technology, University of Limpopo, University of Fort Hare, University of Venda).

The University of Antwerp acts as project coordinator. All partner universities are active actors in the project. The IMPALA project also includes one associated partner, the International Education Association of South Africa (IEASA) which supports the network by disseminating information and good practices  within South African higher education institutions.