MIOS' members

More information about the current projects and publications of our researchers can be found on their personal webpage.

Spokesperson

 Prof. Dr. Michel Walrave

michel.walrave@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 81

Research interests: Online self-disclosure, privacy, online marketing, social media, sexting, cyberbullying, cyber dating abuse

Faculty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Prof. Dr. Charlotte De Backer

 charlotte.debacker@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 80

 Research interests: social food studies, social talk, celebrities, dating behaviour, interpersonal relations

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Prof. Dr. Karolien Poels

 karolien.poels@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 55 87

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Prof. Dr. Koen Ponnet

 koen.ponnet@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 53 41

 Research interests: mediapsychology, social psychology, online and offline risk behavior, adolescents, structural equation modeling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Prof. Dr. Heidi Vandebosch

 heidi.vandebosch@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 82

 Research interests: cyberbullying, (new) media audiences and effects, health communication, serious games, entertainment-education

Guest professors 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Dr. Laura Herrewijn

 laura.herrewijn@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 69

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Dr. Suzanne Overmars

 suzanne.overmars@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 53 80

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Dr. Laura Vandenbosch

 laura.vandenbosch@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 53 41

 

 

 

 

 

Postdocs & guest professors

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Dr. Wannes Heirman

 wannes.heirman@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 71

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Dr. Sara Pabian

 sara.pabian@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 55 59

 Research interests: cyberbullying, ICT use, online interactions, adolescents, longitudinal research

 

 

 

 Dr. Katrien Symons

 katrien.symons@odisee.be

 +32 (0)3 265 53 35

 

Dr. Ini Vanwesenbeeck

ini.vanwesenbeeck@ugent.be

+32 (0)3 265 53 35

PhD researchers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Lies De Kimpe

 lies.dekimpe@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 50 18

 Research interests: social media, online self-disclosure, online risk behaviours, adolescents

 

Rowan Daneels

 rowan.daneels@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 73

 Research interests: digital games, game realism, game cessation, virtual reality (marketing)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Sara Erreygers

 sara.erreygers@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 50 36

 Research interests: emotions, adolescence, prosocial and antisocial online behaviour, cyberbullying

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Lara Hallam

 lara.hallam@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 40 98

Research Interests: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Simone Krouwer

 simone.krouwer@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 68

 Research interests: native advertising, news media, strategic communication, online journalism,  online advertising

 

Katrien Maldoy

katrien.maldoy@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 53 80

Research Interests: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Yandisa Ngqangashe

 yandisa.ngqangashe@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 40 29

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Gaëlle Ouvrein

 gaelle.ouvrein@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 42 09

 Research interests: celebrity bashing, cyberbullying, adolescents, celebrities, gossip

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Konrad Rudnicki

 konrad.rudnicki@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 55 65 or +32 (0)3 265 51 33

 Research interests: biomarkers, oxytocin, biopsychology, psychophysiology, psychoneuroendocrinology

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Evert Van den Broeck

 evert.vandenbroeck@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 49 14

 Research interests: online marketing communication, social media, personalised advertising, social  networking sites, online privacy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Dr. Joris Van Ouytsel

 joris.vanouytsel@uantwerpen.be

  +32 (0)3 265 52 79

 Research interests: sexting, cyber dating abuse, online sexuality, role of digital media in romantic  relationships, media literacy education

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Dr. Kathleen Van Royen

 kathleen.vanroyen@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 52 57

 Research interests: adolescents, social media, sexual harassment, cyberbullying, health communication  and -promotion

 

 

 Karen Verswijvel

 karen.verswijvel@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 49 14

 Research interests: social media, friendship quality, sharenting, professional development, gendered language, gender stereotypes 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Anne Vermeulen

 anne.vermeulen@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 56 71

 Research interests: adolescents, emotion regulation, social sharing of emotions, online and offline  communication, life events

Ivana Vranjes

ivana.vranjes@uantwerpen.be

 

Research Interests: emotions, emotion regulation, (workplace)cyberbullying, stressors at work

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Brahim Zarouali

 brahim.zarouali@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 50 49

 Research Interests: consumer behavior, advertising, persuasion, adolescents, social media

Voluntary member

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Erik Snoeijers

 erik.snoeijers@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 50 36

 Research interests: crisis communication, communication management, public relations, organizational  communication, crisis management

 

Associated members

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Karolien van Nunen

 karolien.vannunen@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 54 50

 Member of the Faculty of Law, Vandeputte Chair in Safety Science, and MIOS

 Research interests: safety in organisations, safety culture

 Fynn Gerken

 fynn.gerken@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 50 18

Member of the Faculty of Applied Economics and MIOS