Piezoelectricity at Nanoscale

Date: 25 January 2017

Venue: UAntwerpen, Campus Groenenborger, building U, room 241 - Groeneborgerlaan 171 - 2020 Antwerpen (route: UAntwerpen, Campus Groenenborger)

Time: 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Organization / co-organization: Condensed Matter Theory

Short description: Physics Department Talk presented by Dr Cem Sevik - Department of Mechanical Engineering, Anadolu University, Eskisȩhir, Turkey

Recently, two dimensional materials with noncentrosymmetric structure have received significant interest due to their potential usage in piezoelectric applications. It has been reported by first principles calculations that relaxed-ion piezoelectric strain (d11) and stress (e11) coefficients of some transition metal dichalcogenide monolayers are comparable or even better than that of conventional bulk piezoelectric materials [1]. Furthermore, piezoelectric coefficient of MoS2 has been measured as 2.9×10−10 C/m[2] , which agrees well with the mentioned theoretical calculation. Afterwards, this exceptional potential has been deeply investigated by the calculation of the piezoelectric properties of various single layer structures: two dimensional transition metal dichalcogenides [3] , transition metal oxides [3] , group II oxides [4] , and hexagonal group III-V [4] , IV-VI [5] and II-VI [6] compounds. The reported results have clearly shown that not only the Mo- and W-based transition metal dichalcogenides but also the other materials with Cr, Ti, Zr and Sn exhibit highly promising piezoelectric properties. Moreover, d11 coefficient of some IV-VI and II-VI (see Figure 1) compounds have been predicted as quite larger than that of transition metal dichalcogenides and the bulk materials, α-quartz, w-GaN, and w-AlN which are widely used in current applications. In conclusion, the reported first principle predictions clearly reveal that monolayer semiconductors are strong candidates for future atomically thin piezoelectric applications such as transducers, sensors, and energy harvesting devices.


  • [1] K. A. N. Duerloo, M. T. Ong, and E. J. Reed, J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 3, 2871, (2012)
  • [2] H. Shu et al. Nat. Nano. 10, 151, (2014)
  • [3] M. M. Alyörük, Y. Aierken, D. Çakır, F. M. Peeters, and C. Sevik, J. Phys. Chem. C 119, 23231, (2015)
  • [4] M. N. Blonsky, H. L. Zhuang, A. K. Singh, and R. G. Hennig, Nano Lett. 9, 9885, (2015)
  • [5] R. Fei, W. Li, J. Li, and L. Yang, Appl. Phys. Lett, 107, 173104, (2015)
  • [6] C. Sevik, D. Çakır, O. Gülseren, and F. M. Peeters, J. Phys. Chem. C, 120, 13948, (2016)

Contact email: lucian.covaci@uantwerpen.be

Link: http://cmt.uantwerpen.be