The Wind Egg

Date: 3 October 2018

Venue: M HKA, museum of contemporary art Antwerp - Leuvenstraat 32 - 2000 Antwerpen

Time: 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM

PhD candidate: Haseeb Ahmed

Principal investigator: Prof Staf Van Tendeloo, Werner Van dermeersch

Short description: PhD defence Haseeb Ahmed - Antwerp Research Institute for the Arts


Haseeb Ahmed’s art practice integrates methodologies from the hard sciences in search of a techno-poetics. His exhibition at M HKA, as part of his public defence unfolds his ongoing Wind Egg experiment.

The concept of ‘wind eggs’ postulates that animals and people can be fertilised by the wind – a belief held for millennia by ancient Egyptian, Arab, Indian, European and Chinese cultures. Ahmed has worked to realise this idea with state-of-the-art wind tunnel technology at the von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics in Belgium.

In the process of personifying the wind he blends art and aeronautics, myth and technology, reflecting the human capacity to project empathetic sensibilities onto nonhuman things. A project that moves from antiquity to astrobiology, the exhibition will function as a test-site for imagining the possibilities for humans to reproduce without men and with the wind.

Ahmed received his Masters from the MIT Program in Art, Culture, and Technology and received his Bachelor of Fine Arts at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. He was previously also a resident at the Jan van Eyck Academie in Maastricht. His work has been exhibited internationally including at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, the Gothenburg International Biennial of Contemporary Art, and the Museum Barengasse Zurich. Haseeb Ahmed is based in Brussels.


Individual PhD Commisssion

  • Prof. Dr. Florian Dombois (visual artist, professor and head of Research Focus in Transdisciplinarity at Zurich University of the Arts)
  • Prof. dr. Staf Van Tendeloo (University of Antwerp, EMAT Research Laboratory)
  • Werner Van dermeersch (architect, professor at St Lucas School of Arts Antwerp)
  • Prof. dr. Pascal Gielen (University of Antwerp, ARIA, CCQO)

External jury members

  • Prof. dr. Beatrice de Gelder (director of the Brain and Emotion Laboratory, Maastricht​ University)

  • Prof. dr. Olivier Chazot (Head of Aeronautics and Aerospace department at Von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics, Brussels)

Chairman jury

Prof. dr. Bart Eeckhout (University of Antwerp, ARIA)