PAM partner in Horizon 2020 project

Date: 10 July 2017

Introduction: Research Group on Public Administration and Management is partner in EU H2020 project on ICT-enabled collaborative government

The Research Group on Public Administration and Management from the University of Antwerp is partner and work package leader in the H2020 funded project TROPICO (2017-2021). The international research project TROPICO (Transforming into Open, Innovative and Collaborative Governments) received funding over 4.7 mil Euro from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme to study digital transformation in the public sector.

By comparing formal frameworks and individual bureaucrats' attitudes, it investigates the key drivers and barriers for better collaboration using information and communication technologies (ICT). Looking closer into key practices of ICT-enabled collaboration among governmental authorities but also between the state and users (citizen, companies or societal organisations etc.), TROPICO identifies key trends and crucial features making better collaboration work in practice. Finally, it assesses the effects of ICT-based collaboration for accountability and identifying responsibilities as well as red tape and governmental efficiency.

The work package (2019-2020) led by the University of Antwerp (RG on Public Administration and Management – coordinator Prof. Koen Verhoest) studied how different kinds of partnerships between public and private actors lead to collaborative innovation in service delivery, and how citizens and users are involved in these collaborative processes.

The project brings together an inter-disciplinary team of researchers in public administration, public management, political science, sociology, law, and digital engineering from 12 leading universities in 10 European countries. It runs from June 2017 to May 2021 and is coordinated by the University of Bergen.

The 12 project partners are: University of Bergen (Norway), Universiteit Antwerpen (Belgium), Cardiff University (United Kingdom), Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France), Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam (Netherlands), Hertie School of Governance (Germany), Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium), Central European University (Hungary), Roskilde Universitet (Denmark), Tallinna Tehnikaulikool (Estonia), Universidad de Zaragoza (Spain), and Universität Potsdam (Germany)

Regular updates on the project are available online: and @tropico_project on Twitter.