April 24, 2024 - EALE Tour


In 2021 EALE launched the EALE Tour for job market candidates. For the EALE Tour, three promising young scholars are selected for a tour along three receiving institutions (universities/research centers).
The EALE Tour profits the Tour candidates and the receiving institutions:
• EALE Tour candidates can promote their research, gain feedback and extend their network.
• PhD’s and senior staff at receiving institutions profit from the interaction with promising young scholars.

“I am happy to hear you received good feedbacks. On our side, it was definitely a success and we very much enjoyed this experience! Thanks again for launching this initiative, we hope you're going to keep it in place for the next years.”
Quote from a EALE Tour candidate

In Antwerp we are very happy to announce the following program: 

Welcome with Coffee and Registration
The Job Market Experience – Q&A – Special Session for PhD Students
Ronja Helénsdotter (University of Gothenburg): 
Surviving Childhood: Health Effects of Removing a Child from Home
Lunch Break
David Martens (University of Antwerp): 
How (not) to use chatGPT as a researcher
Coffee Break
Jon Piqueras (University College London): 
Unemployment Insurance, Inequality of Opportunity, and Labor Market Conditions
Rachel Scarfe (University of Edinburgh): 
Long-Term Trends in Part-Time Work
Coffee Break
Keynote Lecture: David Jaeger (University of St Andrews): 
“Human Capital vs. Signaling in Developed and Developing Countries”
18:00- 19:00
Dinner (by invitation)​​​
=> Please REGISTER HERE (registrations close on 15/4!) 
Location: KAPEL - Klooster van de Grauwzusters - Lange Sint-Annastraat 7, 2000 Antwerpen 

Local Organisers

Sunčica Vujić (University of Antwerp), Bart Cockx (Ghent University), Sam Cosaert (University of Antwerp), Nick Deschacht (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven), Elsa Leromain (University of Antwerp), Sebastiaan Maes (University of Antwerp), Steffen Kuenn (Maastricht University).

Scientific Committee

Michèle Belot (Cornell University), Marco Caliendo (University of Potsdam), Arnaud Chevalier (Royal Holloway University), Kjell Gunar Salvanes (Norwegian School of Economics), and Sunčica Vujić (University of Antwerp).