Hadewijch - Liederen/Songs

In 2009 the edition of Hadewijch's Liederen (Songs) by Veerle Fraeters,  Frank Willaert and Louis Grijp was published by Historische Uitgeverij. This edition was accompanied by four CD's containing all 45 songs, performed by the singers Agnes de Graaff, Els Janssens, Els Van Laethem and Ilse Wijnen, and by Veerle Fraeters and Frank Willaert.

To make these audio files available to an international audience we have decided to publish them on the website of the Ruusbroec Institute (Antwerp, Belgium). By clicking on the images to the right you can access each of the four CD's via a Soundcloud playlist.

We hope you enjoy Hadewijch's Songs. If you like to share your experience, please send us an email: ruusbroec@uantwerpen.be.

Veerle Fraeters and Frank Willaert

Track list Hadewijch Songs

Hadewijch Liederen CD 1

  1. Song 1: Ay, al es nu die winter cout (Frank Willaert)
  2. Song 2: Tsaermeer sal in corten tide (Agnes de Graaff)
  3. Song 3: Die tekene doen ons wel in scine (Els Janssens)
  4. Song 4: Nu sal die tijt ende de voghele droeven (Veerle Fraeters)
  5. Song 5: Al droevet die tijt ende die vogheline (Ilse Wijnen)
  6. Song 6: Als ons onsteet de merte (Frank Willaert)
  7. Song 7: Bi den nuwen jare (Veerle Fraeters)                       
  8. Song 8: Altoes mach men van minnen singhen (Els Van Laethem & Els Janssens)
  9. Song 9: De voghelen hebben lange geswegen (Agnes de Graaff)
  10. Song 10: Nu es dit nuwe jaer (Ilse Wijnen)
  11. Song 11: Nu es die edele tijt geboren (Frank Willaert)
  12. Song 12: Men mach der nuwer tide (Veerle Fraeters)

Hadewijch Liederen CD 2

  1. Song 13: Ten blijtsten tide van den jare (Ilse Wijnen)
  2. Song 14: Al es die tijt blide overal (Frank Willaert)
  3. Song 15: Men mach den nuwen tijt (Els Janssens & Els Van Laethem)
  4. Song 16: Alse hem die tijt vernuwen sal (Veerle Fraeters)
  5. Song 17: Dit nuwe jaer es ons onstaen (Els Van Laethem & Els Janssens)
  6. Song 18: Groeter goede vore den tide (Els Janssens & Els Van Laethem)
  7. Song 19: Dit nuwe jaer es ons begonnen (Veerle Fraeters)
  8. Song 20: Die tijt vernuwet ende egheet (Els Van Laethem)
  9. Song 21: Alse ons de bloemen van den somere comen sijn (Els Janssens)
  10. Song 22: Mine noet es groet ende onbekint den liden (Ilse Wijnen)
  11. Song 23: Die tijt ghevet ons ten goede spoet (Frank WIllaert)
  12. Song 24: Die vogele singhen clare (Veerle Fraeters)

Hadewijch Liederen CD 3

  1. Song 25: In allen tiden van den jare (Ilse Wijnen)
  2. Song 26: Al es verdroevet dach ende tijt (Frank Willaert)
  3. Song 27: Men mach bi den corten daghen (Agnes de Graaff)
  4. Song 28: Die vogle sijn nu blide (Veerle Fraeters)
  5. Song 29: Doer hogher trouwen minne (Ilse Wijnen)
  6. Song 30: Men moet in allen tiden (Frank Willaert)
  7. Song 31: Om grote minne in hoghen ghedachte (Els Van Laethem)
  8. Song 32: Tsaermeer ontspringhen ons de bloemen (Els Janssens)
  9. Song 33: Dit tijt vernuwet met sinen jaren (Els Van Laethem & Els Janssens)
  10. Song 34: In allen tiden, nuwe ende out (Agnes de Graaff)

Hadewijch Liederen CD 4

  1. Song 35: Die tijt es donker ende cout (Veerle Fraeters)
  2. Song 36: Hoe dat jaer hevet sinen tijt (Frank Willaert)
  3. Song 37: Het sal de tijt ons naken sciere (Els Janssens & Els Van Laethem)
  4. Song 38: Alse ons de linten wert gheboren (Ilse Wijnen)
  5. Song 39: Almeest sijn alle creaturen (Els Van Laethem & Els Janssens)
  6. Song 40: Alse ons dit nuwe jaer ontsteet (Agnes de Graaff)
  7. Song 41: Al es dit nuwe jaer begonnen (Frank Willaert)
  8. Song 42: Comen es droeve tijt (Veerle Fraeters)
  9. Song 43: Alse ons ontsteet de winter sware (Agnes de Graaff)
  10. Song 44: Alse ons de vrochte van den jare (Veerle Fraeters)
  11. Song 45: Ay, in welken soe verbaerd de tijt (Els Janssens & Els Van Laethem)

Images of Hadewijch

As far as we know no images of Hadewijch exist. The images above are art works from the series 'Orewoet' by the Dutch artist Cobi van Baars. She created the series of twelve painting in 2011 while reading the edition of the Songs by Veerle Fraeters and Frank Willaert.

  • CD1 - 'Ic roepe, ic claghe: de minne hevet de daghe, ende ic de nachte ende orewoet' (Lied 11)
  • CD2 - 'Met diepen hongere, met vollen saden' (Lied 13)
  • CD3 - 'Ay, wat soudi mi iet, lief, dan al ghi?' (Lied 26)
  • CD4 - 'Dit es mijn zuete amijs' (Lied 39)

Cobi van Baars kindly gave us permission to use her paintings for this website.

For more paintings by Cobi van Baars, please check her website.