The NANOlab day 2023 will take place in the T building of the Groeneborger campus on Sept 18th 2023 and will consist of contributions from all the NANOlab groups in the form of short talks and poster presentations. The main motivation behind this event is to foster collaborations between members of the NANOlab groups.

Students and post-docs are strongly encouraged to present a poster (total of max 40 posters).  Please fill-in the poster abstract submission form. The format of your poster should be portrait A0  in order to maximize the use of the poster boards.


Short talks (room G.T.105)

14:00-14:20 "From the lab to the museum: current challenges and future perspectives in conservation science" by Dr. Alba Alvarez Martin (AXIS)

14:20-14:40 "Accelerating sustainable technological innovations through model-based optimizations & prospective assessments" Dr. Philippe Nimmegeers (ENM)

14:40-15:00 "Thermal properties of 2D materials at quantum level: the need for accurate machine-learning potentials" Dr. Cem Sevik (CMT)

Poster presentations (T Hall)

15:00-17:00 Poster presentations from all groups.

  1. Justus Asasira (ENM)
    Socioeconomic and environmental impacts of biomass briquettes and solar cooking technologies uptake in Southwestern Uganda
  2. Arno Annys (EMAT)
    Deep learning for automated materials characterisation in core-loss electron energy loss spectroscopy
  3. Daphne Vandemeulebroucke (EMAT)
    Modulations and perovskite growth in La2-xSrxMnO4-δ revealed by in-situ and ex-situ 3D electron diffraction
  4. Matthias Quintelier (EMAT)
    3DED investigation of the activation process of Zn-MOF-74
  5. Jonas Schram ( A-Sense Lab)
    Electrochemical classification of benzodiazepines for detection in pills and spiked beverages
  6. Elise Daems (A-Sense Lab)
    A novel singlet oxygen-based photoelectrochemical platform for the specific detection of KRAS mutations
  7. Sensu Tunca ( A-Sense Lab)
    Nickel hydroxide decorated Reduced-TiO2 nanotube electrodes for supercapacitors
  8. Annick De Backer (EMAT)
    Combining HAADF STEM and EDX for element specific atom-counting
  9. Saleh Gholam (EMAT)
    3D Electron Diffraction on Lamellas using a Scanning Electron Microscope
  10. Tom Stoops (EMAT)
    Bayesian genetic algorithm for 3D reconstructions at atomic resolution: Principles and methodology
  11. Abhijit Gogoi (CMT, PLASMANT)
    Arresting Aqueous Swelling of Layered Graphene-Oxide Membranes with H3O+ and OH- Ions
  12. Joshua Claes (CMT)
    Defects in semiconductors as building blocks in quamtum technology: A DFT-1/2 approach
  13. Maarten Soenen (CMT)
    2D Magnonics: From Fundamentals to Applications
  14. Robin De Meyer (EMAT, PLASMANT)
    In-situ Plasma Studies using a Direct Current Microplasma in a Scanning Electron Microscope
  15. Ilkay Ozdemir (CMT)
    Exploring the Adsorption Mechanisms of Neurotransmitter and Amino Acid on Ti3C2 -MXene Monolayer: Insights from DFT Calculations
  16. Amirhossein Hajizadeh (EMAT)
    In situ 3DED in liquid to study the structural transformation of functional materials during electrochemical reactions; challenges and progress
  17. Bert Jorissen (CMT)
    Opto-electrical properties of deformations in 2D TMDs
  18. Maciej Paśniewski (EMAT)
    Influence of Instrumental Parameters of FIB-SEM on Polyolefins 
  19. Rajeshreddy Ninakanti (DuEL, EMAT)
    From Au@Tio2 core shell structure to self assembled nanoparticle clusters
  20. Saskia Hoekx (EMAT)
    Towards rational design of Cu NPs for the NO3RR
  21. Deema Balalta (EMAT)
    In situ (S)TEM Characterization of a Pd/ZnO Catalyst for CO2 Hydrogenation and Selective Methanol Synthesis
  22. Sepideh Rahimi (EMAT)
    Polysulfide in-situ characterization with 3D electron diffraction for Lithium-Sulfur batteries
  23. Denis Šabani (CMT)
    Moiré chiral magnetism in 2D materials
  24. Fahim Faraji (CMT, PLASMANT)
    Cation-controlled permeation of charged polymers through nanocapillaries
  25. Jovana Vlahovic (CMT)
    Photo-thermo-structural characterization of mono- and bimetallic Au and Ag nanoparticles
  26. Zehua Tao (CMT)
    Tunable light-matter interactions in van der Waals nanomaterials via surface plasmon polaritons
  27. Wilson Nieto (CMT)
    Ferroelectricity in 2D materials: The case for hexagonal boron nitride
  28. Ermanno Avranovich Clerici (AXIS)
    Conventional or synchrotron source to collect macroscopic X-Ray powder diffraction data from painted wall fragments, a comparison
  29. Ali Ghojavand (CMT)
    Strain-induced tuning of magnetism in monolayer NiBr2: a 2D multiferroic material
  30. Duygu Gizem Senturk (EMAT)
    Atom-counting from a combination of multiple ADF STEM images