An overview of the networks of the research group "Politics & Public Governance" is provided below:

Antwerp Consortium on the Organization of Rulemaking and Multi-level Governance in Europe (ACTORE)

ACTORE is the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence of the University of Antwerp that brings together scholars from law, public administration and political science with multidisciplinary expertise in multi-level and multi-actor organization of the EU. It is composed of three research groups: ACIM, G&L and our research group (PA&M).

In terms of research, ACTORE facilitates the development of joint research and the common organization of Ph.D. training; in terms of teaching, ACTORE functions as a hub for EU related teaching in the two faculties and beyond, enabling innovation in teaching programs and reaching out to new students and citizens interested in life-long learning. In terms of outreach, ACTORE acts as an organizer of events for targeted groups.


The COBRA-Network ("Comparative Public Organization DataBase for Research and Analysis - network") and the CRIPO-network 'Comparative Research into Current Trends in Public Sector Organization' assembles 35 research groups in 23 countries with different research focused on public sector organizations and agencies.


COST is the longest-running European framework supporting trans-national cooperation among researchers, engineers and scholars across Europe.

It is a unique means to jointly develop ideas and new initiatives across all fields in science and technology, including social sciences and humanities, through pan-European networking of nationally funded research activities. Based on a European intergovernmental framework for cooperation in science and technology, COST has been contributing to closing the gap between science, policy makers and society throughout Europe and beyond. As a precursor of advanced multidisciplinary research, COST plays a very important role in building a European Research Area (ERA).

It anticipates and complements the activities of the EU Framework Programmes, constituting a “bridge” towards the scientific communities of COST Inclusiveness Target Countries. It also increases the mobility of researchers across Europe and fosters the establishment of scientific excellence.

European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR)

The European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) is an independent scholarly association which supports and encourages the training, research and cross national co-operation of political scientists throughout Europe and beyond. It does so through its broad program of conferences and events, standing groups, funding opportunities and its its extensive publishing portfolio. With some 350 institutional members, the ECPR's membership spans 50 countries and reaches over 10,000 individuals. 

European Group for Public Administration (EGPA)

The European Group for Public Administration is a regional group of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences (IIAS) whose purpose is to strengthen contacts and exchanges among European specialists in Public Administration, both scholars and practitioners. EGPA organizes an annual conference, based on 15 permanent study groups in which research is presented, discussed and prepared for publication. 


EuroSim is an annual international, intercollegiate simulation of the European Union (EU). This conference brings together over 225 students and faculty from more than 20 colleges and universities in the United States and Europe, offering participants a unique opportunity to work and learn in an exciting multicultural environment.

Have a look at the webpages of the Transatlantic EU Simulation EuroSim for more information.


GOVTRUST studies the dynamics, causes and effects of trust between actors in multi-level governance. It combines the expertise of UAntwerp’s law, social science and business and economics faculties to study trust in government, trust between governments and trust between public and private entities from an interdisciplinary perspective, taking into account the increasing integration of governments into multilevel systems such as the EU.

GOVTRUST is comprised of researchers from the following units:

  • Research group Government and Law (Faculty of Law)
  • Research group Politics and Public Governance (Faculty of Social Sciences)
  • Research group Media, ICT and interpersonal relations in Organisations in Society (Faculty of Social Sciences)
  • The Antwerp Center for Evolutionary Demography (ACED) (Faculty of Business and Economics)

Policy Research Centre - Governmental organization Flanders (SBOV)

The 'Policy Research Centre - Governmental organization Flanders' (SBOV) is an interuniversity research consortium which conducts policy-research on behalf of the Flemish government. The research program SBOV III runned from 2012 till 2015. 


PLATO brings together European researchers to study the EU’s post-crisis legitimacy. The innovative PhD programme trains future research leaders and experts who will contribute to solving key policy issues for Europe.

Policy Research Centre - Governmental organization Flanders (SBV)

The 'Policy Research Centre - Governmental Organisations Flanders' (SBV) is an interuniversity research consortium which conducts policy research on behalf of the Flemish government. The research program (2016-2020) supports scientific research to implement and evaluate new policy decisions. 

Netherlands Institute of Government (NIG)

NIG is an interuniversity research school in which faculties from nine Dutch universities and two Flemish universities participate. NIG coordinates and stimulates research in the area of Public Administration and Political Science and offers a training program for Ph.D. students.

Jean Monnet Network on EU-Canada Relations

The Jean Monnet Network on EU-Canada Relations: The EU and Canada in Dialogue is housed at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada. The project supports a network involving Carleton University and four European partner universities: University of Antwerp, Technical University Darmstadt, Technical University Munich, University of Latvia.

These universities share critical expertise in three key areas of the EU-Canada relationship: (1) common foreign policy and security challenges; (2) trade, investment, and economic relations, particularly in regards to the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA); and (3) the interface between climate change and energy policy, both domestically and globally.

Together, the five partners promote joint research and the exchange of knowledge and practices that will encourage mutual learning and closer cooperation between the EU and Canada. The project provides the public with important information and knowledge through a series of outreach workshops to be held both in Canada and Europe. Students from both sides of the Atlantic are given the opportunity to undertake internships or study visits that will provide training opportunities and first-hand exposure to experts. Through these vehicles, the project promotes support for the European integration process and the potential benefits of stronger EU-Canada cooperation in multiple arenas.

Vlaamse Vereniging voor Bestuur en Beleid (VVBB)

'Vlaamse Vereniging voor Bestuur en Beleid' (VVBB) promotes public administration research. It is a platform where academics and practitioners meet in order to exchange ideas and experiences, with the goal of improving governance. One of iets main activities is the publication of 'Vlaams Tijdschrift voor Overheidsmanagement' (VTOM), a multidisciplinary journal aimed at scholars and practitioners.

Other networks