Side header image

Erasmus Mundus

Erasmus Mundus is a cooperation and mobility programme in the field of higher education that aims to boost the quality of European higher education and to encourage dialogue and understanding between different people and cultures through academic collaboration. In addition, it contributes to the growth of human resources and the international cooperation capacity of higher education institutions in Third Countries by increasing mobility between the European Union and these countries. This funding scheme is supported by the European Commission.

The Erasmus Mundus programme is composed of 3 different actions. Erasmus Mundus offers financial support for institutions as well as scholarships for students and university staff.

Action 1: European joint Masters and Doctorates (including scholarships)
Action 2: Partnerships with non-European higher education institutions and scholarships for students and academics
Action 3: Projects to promote European higher education worldwide

Currently, the University of Antwerp is  involved in 9 Erasmus Mundus programmes:

As coordinating institution

As partner institution

The University of Antwerp coordinated the Connec project from 2009 to 2013. It was also a partner university in EADIC I & II and Emundus20.

Erasmus Mundus scholarships

An Erasmus Mundus Action 2 scholarship includes a monthly subsistence allowance to cover your living expenses, insurance coverage and a return ticket. The scholarship also covers participation fees at the host university for mobility periods of 10 months or more.

  • Subsistence allowance
    • Bachelor & Master: 1.000 EUR/month
    • PhD: 1.500 EUR/month
    • Postdoc: 1.800 EUR/month
    • Staff: 2.500 EUR/month
  • Insurance coverage
  • Return ticket
  • Participation fees (up to 3.000 EUR/10 months)