Side header image


The 250 + staff members of the Faculty of Social Sciences  work hard every day to ensure that the research, education and services we provide are of the highest quality, and all of this is carried out by the departments themselves.

The faculty has four departments: 

Communication Studies

Chair: Prof. Karolien Poels
Vice-Chair: Prof. Alexander Dhoest

Training and Education Sciences (OOW)

Chair: Prof. dr. Piet Van den Bossche
Vice-chair at interim: Prof. dr. Sven De Maeyer

Political Sciences

Chair: Prof. Dirk De Bièvre 
Vice-Chair: Prof. Stefaan Walgrave


Chair: Prof. Gert Verschraegen
Vice-Chair: Prof. Edwin Wouters