Following the end of the monarchy and its replacement by a republican system in 1966, Burundi has held multiparty elections in 1993, 2005, 2010 and 2015. For each of these four electoral cycles, this section provides (i) an overview of the electoral legislation applicable at that time, (ii) the electoral programmes of the various parties, (iii) the results of the (presidential, legislative and local) elections, as well as (iv) a number of electoral observation reports and some other analytical documents. These four chapters are preceded by a smaller chapter containing a selection of documents related to elections held prior to 1990.

To consult the documents, visit the chapter that corresponds to the electoral cycle.

We refer to the section Constitution, chapter Constitutional Court for information and case-files related to electoral disputes

Read more in French