UCSIA/IJS-Chair 2014-2015: Prof. dr. Warren Zev Harvey

During the academic year 2014-2015, the seventh edition of this initiative, Prof. dr. Warren Zev Harvey (Professor Emeritus, Department of Jewish Thought, Hebrew University of Jerusalem) will hold the chair. He will deliver two evening lectures for a general audience, as well as two guest lectures in courses within the Faculty of Arts of the University of Antwerp.

For a summary of both public lectures and guest lectures, click here.

Public lecture I
Thursday 12 February 2015 at 20h00 / Hof van Liere, Prinsstraat 13, 2000 Antwerp
Maimonides and Aquinas on Reading the Bible
Prof. dr. Warren Zev Harvey
Lecture in English

Public lecture II
Thursday 19 February 2015 at 20h00 / Hof van Liere, Prinsstraat 13, 2000 Antwerp
The Powerful Allure of Negative Theology
Prof. dr. Warren Zev Harvey in dialogue with Prof. dr. P.J.J. van Geest (Tilburg University)
Lecture Prof. Harvey: Pseudo-Dionysius, Maimonides, Wittgenstein and Derrida on Negative Theology
Lecture Prof. van Geest: The Incomprehensibility of God. Augustine as a Negative Theologian
Lectures in English, followed by a reception.

Participation to these lectures is free. To register, click here.

Guest lectures by Prof. Harvey at the University of Antwerp
Wednesday 18 February 2015
Judaism & Philosophy: The Cosmopolitan Character of Jewish Philosophy
course Judaism and Philosophy by Prof. dr. Vivian Liska and Drs. Dennis Baert (Faculty of Arts, Philosophy)
Room R.013 from 14h00 until 16h00

Wednesday 18 February 2015
Introduction to Jewish Culture: What is Midrash?
course Introduction to Jewish Culture by Prof. dr. Karin Hofmeester (Faculty of Arts, History)
Room R.224 from 16h00 until 18h00

These guest lectures can be followed by anybody interested in the subject.
For more information and registration for the guest lectures, please contact the Institute of Jewish Studies: +32 3 265 52 43 – ijs@uantwerpen.be

Flyer UCSIA/IJS-Chair 2014-2015

Click here to download the detailed flyer of this edition of the UCSIA/IJS-Chair.