Side header image

Departments, research groups and research topics

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences consists of 12 departments.

  • A department can comprise one or more research groups or can coincide with a research group.
  • A research group can comprise one or more research topics or can coincide with a research topic.

Click on the department, research group or topic for more information about research, publications and so on.

1. Antwerp Surgical Training, Anatomy and Research Centre (ASTARC)

2. Collaborative Antwerp Psychiatric Research Institute (CAPRI)

3. Epidemiology and Social Medicine (ESOC)

Global Health Institute (GHI)

Social Epidemiology and Health Policy (SEHPO)

  • Epidemiology and Medical Statistics
  • Medical Sociology and Health Policy
  • Social Medicine

4. Genetics, Pharmacology and Physiopathology of Heart, Blood Vessels and Skeleton (GENCOR)

Cardiovascular Diseases (CARDIOVASC)

Medical Genetics (MEDGEN)

Physiopharmacology (FYSFAR)

5. Molecular Imaging, Pathology, Radiotherapy and Oncology (MIPRO)

Centre for Oncological Research (CORE)

6. Molecular - Morphology - Microscopy (mVISION)

Cell Biology and Histology (CBH)

Molecular Imaging and Radiology (MIRA)

7. Nursing and Midwifery Sciences (V&V)

Centre for Research and Innovation in Care (CRIC)

8. Primary and Interdisciplinary Care (ELIZA) (in Dutch)

9. Rehabilitation Sciences and Physiotherapy (REVAKI)

Movement Antwerp (MOVANT)

10. Translational Neurosciences (TNW)

11. Translational Research in Immunology and Inflammation (TWI²N)


  • Dermatology
  • Immunology and Allergology
  • Rheumatology

Laboratory of Experimental Medicine and Pediatrics (LEMP)

12. Vaccine & Infectious Disease Institute (VAXINFECTIO)

Centre for Health Economics Research and Modelling of Infectious Diseases (CHERMID)

Centre for the Evaluation of Vaccination (CEV)

Laboratory of Experimental Hematology (LEH)

Laboratory of Medical Microbiology (LMM)


Kristin Deby Campus Drie Eiken
Building S - Office S.153
Universiteitsplein 1
2610 WILRIJK (Antwerpen)
Tel. +32 3 265 25 40
Fax +32 3 265 25 01