Research groups

Research Groups

The research activities within the Faculty of Law of the University of Antwerp are undertaken thematically in five research groups:

The research groups shape the collaboration between our researchers. They optimize the cooperation between researchers and provide a better profile of our research expertise.

Each research group has a research programme in which the mission, vision, priorities and lines of research are explained. The spokesperson is the point of contact. Each group has an advisory board to ensure the link with practitioners and user groups.

Research Chairs

Part of our research is only possible through cooperation with individuals, companies and associations in a research chair:

The research of those chairs can be found under Chairs and Funds.


Antwerp Tax Academy is an interfaculty institute for tax science, and cooperation between Antwerp Management School and the University of Antwerp.

Within Antwerp Tax Academy Digitax is a ‘Centre of Excellence’ that conducts research into the challenges and opportunities in tax digitation.