Four top international scientists and the rectors of the four other Flemish universities were honorary guests at the presentation of our university’s honorary doctorates on Thursday 25 April 2013.

Scientific merit

Prof David Clayton

The Faculty of Pharmaceutical, Biomedical and Veterinary Sciences paid tribute to David Clayton, Professor of Neuroscience and Head of the Psychology Division at Queen Mary (University of London). His study of songbirds has made an important contribution to research into Parkinson’s disease.

Supervisor: Prof Annemie Van Der Linden

Prof Donald C. Hambrick

The Faculty of Applied Economics chose Donald C. Hambrick, Professor at the Smeal College of Business at Pennsylvania State University. He gained fame as the founder of research into the impact that top management teams and CEOs have on organisational behaviour and an organisation’s performance.

Supervisor: Prof Christophe Boone

Prof Bernhard Keller

The Faculty of Science chose Bernhard Keller of the Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu (Université Paris Diderot). Keller is a respected mathematician in the field of homological algebra.

Supervisor: Prof Bob Lowen

Prof Petros C. Mavroidis

Petros C. Mavroidis, professor at the European University Institute, the university of Neuchâtel and the Columbia Law School, received an honorary doctorate from the Faculty of Law. He is a renowned expert in economic law.

Supervisor: Prof Alexia Herwig

General merit

The University of Antwerp also confers honorary doctorates for general merit. In 2013, these were awarded to the rectors of the four other Flemish universities. Their honorary supervisor was Professor Alain Verschoren, Rector of the University of Antwerp. "With these honorary doctorates we want to make it clear that the Flemish universities have been working together more frequently and more closely over the last few years. This collaboration is good for the worldwide reputation of our education and research facilities."

  • Prof Luc De Schepper, Rector of UHasselt
  • Prof Paul De Knop, Rector of VUB
  • Prof Mark Waer, Rector of KU Leuven
  • Prof Paul Van Cauwenberge, Rector of UGhent