On Tuesday 28, Wednesday 29 and Thursday 30 March 2023, four international researchers received an honorary degree for scientific merit and one laureate received an honorary degree for general merit. 

Ms. Roshaneh Zafar

Honorary degree for General Merit

For her outstanding role as a development activist. Zafar was the first to set up a microfinance organisation in Pakistan. She is actively involved in the field of women’s economic empowerment.   -   Founder and Managing Director of Kashf Foundation

Nominator: Rector Herman Van Goethem

Professor Luca Bertolini

Honorary degree in Design Sciences

In recognition of his expertise in urban planning. He posits that urban development is concentrated around public transport hubs and provides policy recommendations. - University of Amsterdam  

Nominator: Prof. Thomas Vanoutrive

Professor Shaker A. Zahra

Honorary degree in Business and Economics

In recognition of his expertise in entrepreneurship. He is a pioneer for his contributions to entrepreneurship research. - Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota

Nominator: Prof. Ine Paeleman

Professor Luis M. Liz-Marzán

Honorary degree in Sciences

In recognition of his expertise in the synthesis, characterisation and application of plasmonic metal nanoparticles. - Centre for Cooperative Research in Biomaterials – CIC biomaGUNE and University of Vigo  

Nominator: Prof. Sara Bals

Professor Daniel Lord Smail

Honorary degree in Arts

In recognition of his expertise in the history of the late medieval city in the relevance of medieval history today. - Harvard University  

Laudation: Prof. Jeroen Puttevils