You are very welcome to meet all the members of our research group MIOS as listed below. For more information about our members' current projects and publications, please click on their name to go to their personal webpage.

Spokesperson

Prof. Dr. Michel Walrave

michel.walrave@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 81

Research interests: Online self-disclosure, online privacy, sexting, sharenting, online marketing, social media, cyberbullying, cyber dating abuse

Professors

Prof. Dr. Charlotte De Backer

charlotte.debacker@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 80

Research interests: social food studies, social talk, celebrities, dating behaviour, interpersonal relations


Prof. Dr. Karolien Poels

karolien.poels@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 55 87

Research interests: advertising, advertising processing, personalisation, native advertising, advertising effects, online privacy

Prof. Dr. Koen Ponnet

koen.ponnet@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 53 41

Research interests: mediapsychology, social psychology, online and offline risk behavior, adolescents, structural equation modeling

Prof. Dr. Heidi Vandebosch

heidi.vandebosch@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 82

Research interests: cyberbullying, (new) media audiences and effects, health communication, serious games, entertainment-education

Part-time professors, guest professors and postdoctoral researchers

Dr. Elke Cloots

elke.cloots@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 51 41

Research interests: media law, freedom of speech, identity, discrimination, hate speech, data protection, European Union

Dr. Wannes Heirman

wannes.heirman@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 71

Research interests: VR, online privacy, online marketing, cyberbullying

Dr. Sara Pabian

sara.pabian@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 55 59

Research interests: cyberbullying, ICT use, online interactions, adolescents, longitudinal research

Dr. Ann DeSmet

ann.desmet@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 71

Research interests: health communication, digital health, media psychology, emotions

Dr. Joris Van Ouytsel

joris.vanouytsel@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 52 79

Research interests: sexting, cyber dating abuse, online sexuality, role of digital media in romantic  relationships, media literacy education

Dr. Sara Erreygers

sara.erreygers@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 50 36

Research interests: emotions, adolescence, prosocial and antisocial online behaviour, cyberbullying

Dr. Gaëlle Ouvrein

gaelle.ouvrein@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 42 09

Research interests: celebrity bashing, cyberbullying, adolescents, celebrities, gossip

Lara Hallam

lara.hallam@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 40 98

Research interests: Online dating, interpersonal trust, online to offline modality switching, mating and dating behavior, hurt

Simone Krouwer

simone.krouwer@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 68

Research interests: native advertising, news media, strategic communication, online journalism,  online advertising

Karen Verswijvel

karen.verswijvel@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 49 14

Research interests: social media, friendship quality, sharenting, professional development, gendered language, gender stereotypes 

Konrad Rudnicki

konrad.rudnicki@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 55 65 or +32 (0)3 265 51 33

Research interests: biomarkers, oxytocin, biopsychology, psychophysiology, psychoneuroendocrinology

PhD Researchers

Isabelle Cuyckx

Isabelle.cuyckx@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 52 64

Research interests: influencers & food endorsers, food media, food literacy, health communication, healthy eating patterns, behavioral change, campaigning 

Rowan Daneels

rowan.daneels@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 73

Research interests: digital games, adolescents & games, meaningful gaming, (moral) elevation, VR, social robots

Anouk De Ridder

anouk.deridder@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 53 35

Research interests: positive media research, audience research, qualitative audience studies, entertainment media

Dorien Luyckx

dorien.luyckx@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 92 73

Research interests: advertising, native advertising, media industry, business models for news, engaged journalism, journalism startups

Sofie Mariën

sofie.marien@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 92 73

Research interests: Mental health, adolescence, online community, health narratives, expressive writing

Katrien Maldoy

katrien.maldoy@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 53 80

Research interests: consumer behavior, advertising, health, social food studies, adolescents

Michelle Symons

michelle.symons@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 51 60 

Research interests: just-in-time adaptive interventions, health communication, physical activity, messages, nudging, persuasive communication

Lauranna Teunissen

lauranna.teunissen@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 51 60 

Research interests: Food media, food endorsers/influencers, consumer behavior, health communication and emerging adulthood

Roos van Gogh

roseline.vangogh@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 53 80

Research interests: CSR, cause-related marketing, sustainable and ethical consumer behavior, influencer marketing, persuasive online communication, social profit communication, emerging adults

Jules Vrinten

jules.vrinten@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 52 64

Research interests: food media influence on food consumption patterns, psychology, health promotion 

Amber Peeters

amber.peeters@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: health communication, social food studies, food consumption, food as identity


Ina Weber

ina.weber@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: online hate speech, user perceptions of new technologies, online interactions, recommendations, experimental research, ethics in AI

Lise-Marie Nassen

lise-marie.nassen@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: ​Digital disconnection, ICT use, strategic and persuasive communication, digital behaviour

Paulien Decorte

paulien.decorte@uantwerpen.be 

Research interests: food media, emerging adulthood, food influencers & celebrities, consumer behavior, health communication


Sofie Apers

sofie.apers@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: ​health communication, radon, mass media, strategic communication

Yi-Lun Jheng

Yi-Lun.Jheng@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: learning from text, emotion dynamics, physiological Measurement, cognition-emotion interaction

Yuying Tan

Yuying.Tan@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: online sexual harassment, behavior intervention, cognitive system and artificial intelligence, affective computing, interactive media, content marketing 

Toni Claessens

toni.claessens@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: vaccine hesitancy, vaccine confidence, health communication, persuasive technologies

Aurélie Gilen

aurelie.gilen@uantwerpen.be

Research interests: cyberviolence, image-based sexual abuse, non-consensual sharing of intimate images, LGBTQ+, sexology, @ntidote project

Associated collaborators

Fynn Gerken

fynn.gerken@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 50 18

Member of the Faculty of Business and Economics and MIOS

Research interests: corporate communication, crisis communication, social media, economic consequences of organisational communication, flow of information in capital markets

Dr. Yandisa Ngqangashe

 yandisa.ngqangashe@uantwerpen.be

 +32 (0)3 265 40 29

 Research interests: food related media, food literacy on adolescents , adolescents, health communication

Dr. Erik Snoeijers

erik.snoeijers@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 50 36

Research interests: crisis communication, communication management, public relations, organizational  communication, crisis management

Dr. Evert Van den Broeck

evert.vandenbroeck@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 49 14

Research interests: online marketing communication, social media, personalised advertising, social  networking sites, online privacy

Dr. Kathleen Van Royen

kathleen.vanroyen@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 52 57

Research interests: adolescents, social media, sexual harassment, cyberbullying, health communication and promotion


Dr. Ini Vanwesenbeeck

ini.vanwesenbeeck@ugent.be

+32 (0)3 265 53 35

Research interests: advertising literacy, advergames, in-game advertising, parental internet mediation

Anne Vermeulen

anne.vermeulen@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 56 71

Research interests: adolescents, emotion regulation, social sharing of emotions, online and offline  communication, life events  

Dr. Brahim Zarouali

brahim.zarouali@uantwerpen.be

+32 (0)3 265 50 49

Research Interests: consumer behavior, advertising, persuasion, adolescents, social media      

Former members

  • Dr. Sara Bastiaensens
  • Gie Deboutte
  • Dr. Suzanne Overmars
  • Dr. Katrien Van Cleemput
  • Karolien Van Nunen
  • Dr. Ivana Vranjes
  • Dr. Denis Wegge
  • Dr. Lies De Kimpe