Sociale Wetenschappen

Departement Politieke Wetenschappen - mission statement

Department of Political Science – Mission Statement and Research Focus

The Department of Political Science of the University of Antwerp is committed to excellent research to further our understanding of political institutions, processes, actors, and dynamics. Aiming for international standards of excellence, its staff and researchers conduct fundamental as well as policy-oriented research by applying a broad range of theoretical approaches and methods.

The Department is also committed to making this knowledge accessible to a larger public. We offer research based teaching in our undergraduate and graduate programmes, providing analytical and theoretical training to our students. By participating in public debates on timely political topics, the members of the department strive to build bridges between science and society at large.

At the Department, we aim at constituting an open, dynamic and stimulating environment, by being involved or acting as leaders in research networks and projects, and cooperating with colleagues from all over the world. The department is committed to further the internationalisation of its students and staff.

Research by the members of the Department of Political Science is grouped in a number of strands, all embedded within one of the department’s five research groups: 

International Politics
Politics and Public Governance
Media, Movements & Politics (M²P)